

## Newsletter

Quality Education and Health Science for Patient Benefit

Feb 2025/ Volume 7 / Issue 1



The AFOMP Golam Abu Zakaria Best Young Leadership Award is a prestigious honor presented by the Asia-Oceania Federation of Organizations for Medical Physics (AFOMP). This award, named in tribute to Dr. Golam Abu Zakaria, a respected expatriate medical physicist, Germany aims to inspire and support young professionals in advancing the field. Each year, this award highlights those who have made significant contributions to the field and have shown exceptional promise for continued leadership in the profession.

Dr. Men Kuo has been selected as the recipient of the 2024 AFOMP Golam Abu Zakaria Best Young Leadership Award, acknowledging his exceptional leadership and groundbreaking research in medical imaging and radiotherapy.

Dr. Men Kuo has been with the Cancer Hospital, Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences since 2010, where he currently serves as the Chief Medical Physicist. He also holds the role of Associate Researcher since 2020 and is the Director of the Radiation Physics Laboratory in the Radiotherapy Department, a position he took up in 2019. His research focuses the development of cutting-edge medical imaging and radiotherapy techniques, emphasizing application the learning and big data to improve image quality, patient-specific treatment planning, and adaptive radiotherapy. His work includes innovations in cone-beam CT, MRI-quided radiotherapy, proton therapy, and Al-based segmentation and dose calculation methods. Dr. Kuo has over 30 publications in these fields, contributing significantly to both academic research and clinical practice.

He completed his Ph.D. in Medical Physics from Peking Union Medical College and an M.A. in Medical Physics from Wuhan University. His academic journey reflects his dedication to advancing the field. In addition to his research, he has mentored numerous young scientists, further contributing to the growth of medical physics. He has received several prestigious awards, including the Young Scientist Award from the International Organization for Medical Physics (IOMP) in 2018 and the Beijing Nova Program in 2020.

In light of his outstanding achievements and continuous dedication, Dr. Kuo was selected to receive the AFOMP Golam Abu Zakaria Best Young Leadership Award. Although an emergency prevented him from attending the Asia-Oceania Congress of Medical Physics (AOCMP) 2024 in Penang, Malaysia, Dr. Kuo participated virtually, where he expressed his heartfelt gratitude for the recognition. During his virtual appearance, he delivered a motivational speech that emphasized his dedication to advancing the field and his commitment to inspiring the next generation of medical physicists. His words resonated deeply with the audience of esteemed professionals, reinforcing the spirit of leadership and

innovation that this award seeks to celebrate.

As part of the recognition, Dr. Kuo was presented with a US\$400 cash prize and a certificate in honor of his leadership and groundbreaking work in medical physics. The award and accompanying recognition were subsequently sent to Dr. Kuo in China.

The AFOMP Golam Abu Zakaria Best Young Leadership Award not only highlights Dr. Kuo's exceptional contributions to medical physics but also serves as a testament to his continued influence in the field. His work is shaping the future of healthcare, especially in radiotherapy, and his leadership and vision continue to inspire both current professionals and the next generation of medical physicists. Through this award, Dr. Kuo's ongoing contributions to the profession are celebrated, reaffirming his place as a key figure in the continued advancement of medical physics.